Hot! Wiz Khalifa & Curren$y Announce Joint Album, ‘2009’


Dropping tomorrow, February 8th.

Curren$y and Wiz Khalifia’s kinship is an endearing, well-documented story. Before the fame, before the endless green mountains of prime marijuana, Spitta and Wiz were just two kids with mutual dreams of rap stardom, and the crushing reality of dwindling bank accounts.

On Curren$y’s 2015 song “Winning” off of his acclaimed Canal Street Confidential album, he and Wiz detail the story of their humble beginnings that watered their respective outsized successes. Before accumulating rabid fanbases, no one really believed in the two stoners from Pittsburgh and New Orleans; these guys just believed in themselves, and, more importantly, each other.

Years removed from the dire straits of their impoverished amateur days, Wiz and Curren$y are highly regarded in their niche of weed raps and imparting laidback vibes. Now that they’ve collectively reached the musical summit, what better way to commemorate the milestone than creating a joint album? Wiz and Spitta are doing just that.

Slated to drop tomorrow, February 8th, this collaborative endeavor, entitled 2009, will be a14-track offering–a largely featureless effort, save for guest appearances from Ty Dolla $ign and Problem. The album was announced yesterday, February 6th, through a snippet dropped on Curren$y’s IG of the project’s second song, “10 Piece”–a few days after their first collaborative initiative, How Fly, released nearly a decade ago, hit streaming services.

Production on 2009 will be handled by a collection of the industry’s finest, including: Cardo, Dame Grease, Harry Fraud, and more.

Check out the complete tracklist below:

1. Garage Talk (prod. by Dame Grease)

2. 10 Piece (prod. by Dame Grease)

3. Benz Boys f. Ty Dolla $ign (prod. by Dame Grease)

4. The Life (prod. by Cardo)

5. Find A Way (prod. by Cardo)

6. Eastside (prod. by Cardo)

7. From The Start (prod. by DJ Fresh)

8. No Clout Chasin (prod. by Ricky P & Z Cook)

9. Getting Loose f. Problem (prod. by Problem & Van Gogh)

10. Stoned Gentleman (prod. by Sledgren)

11. First Or Last (prod. by DJ Fresh)

12. Plot Twist (prod. by Monstabeatz)

13. Bottle Poppers (prod. by DJ Fresh)

14. Forever Ball (prod. by Harry Fraud)



Zach H